Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


Dublin Shortlist for the Irish Restaurant Awards Announced

Dublin Shortlist for the Irish Restaurant Awards Announced


Friday 6th March 2020

The Restaurants Association of Ireland today announced its Dublin region shortlist for the Irish Restaurant Awards 2020. Among the winners are the very best of restaurateurs, chefs and hospitality management in the Dublin area.

The awards cover a wide range of venues and the winners are selected from the following categories: Best Customer Service, Best Café, Best Gastro Pub, Best ‘Free From’, Best Casual Dining, Best World Cuisine, Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant, Best Chef, Best Restaurant, Best Wine Experience, Pub of the Year, Best Restaurant Manager, Best Kids Size Me, Local Food Hero, Best Emerging Irish Cuisine and Best Newcomer.

Speaking about the awards, Adrian Cummins, Chief Executive of the Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) said:

“Now in their 12th year, the Irish Restaurant Awards continue to showcase the incredible food that is on offer in the cafes, pubs and restaurants of Ireland, as well as recognising the teams behind these establishments and the hard work and dedication that they put in. With well over 100,000 nominations received from the public this year, the standard for the judging process was higher than ever.

Ireland may be a small country, but it boasts everything from fine dining to high quality gastropubs, from the comfort of traditional Irish food to exploring the world though exotic world cuisine, the Irish restaurant industry has much to offer. We have an appreciation for what we eat and where our food comes from, as well as the dedication of those working in the food industry”.

Dublin shortlist winners are as follows:

Best Gastro Pub – Sponsored by Elavon

The Legal Eagle


The Old Spot

Matt the Thresher

Mulligan Grocer

Wrights Anglers Rest

The Chophouse

The Exchequer

Bull and Castle

The Dalkey Duck

Best Hotel and Guesthouse Restaurant – Sponsored by Frylite

Wilde Restaurant at The Westbury

The Saddle Room at The Shelbourne

The Brasserie at the Marker Hotel

Morelands at The Westin

King Sitric Restaurant and Accommodation

The Garden Room at The Merrion Hotel

Oliveto at Haddington House

Talavera at Radisson Blu St. Helen’s Hotel

1900 Restaurant at Harcourt Hotel

Urchin at Cliff Townhouse

Best Customer Service – Sponsored by Dolmen Insurance Brokers


Dax Restaurant

3 Leaves


Michael’s Mount Merion

The Old Spot

Wilde Restaurant at the Westbury




Best Newcomer – Sponsored by Monin

Liath Restaurant

Mamó Restaurant

Spitalfield Restaurant

Le Perroquet

Little Mikes

Mister S




Volpe Nera

Best Café – Sponsored by Illy

Lo Cal Café

Bread 41


Baa Baa by Blacksheep Foods


Urbun Café

Meet Me In The Morning

Tiller + Grain

Cloud Picker

Silk Road Café

Best Chef – Sponsored by BWG Foodservice

Niall Davidson of Allta

Cúán Greene of Bastible

Graham Neville of Dax Restaurant

Visham Sumputh of Etto

Damien Grey of Liath Restaurant

Killian Durkin of Mamó

Mickael Viljanen of The Greenhouse

Paul McNamara of Uno Mas

Keelan Higgs of Variety Jones

Barry Sun Jian of Volpe Nera

Best Restaurant – Sponsored by Tindal Wine Merchants


Dax Restaurant


Forest & Marcy

Liath Restaurant

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud

The Greenhouse

Uno Mas

Variety Jones

Chapter One

Pub of the Year – Sponsored by Jameson

John Kavanagh “The Gravediggers”


Doheny & Nesbitt

Stag’s Head

The Long Hall

The Palace Bar

The Anglers Rest

The Old Stand

Hole In The Wall


Best Wine Experience – Sponsored by Gilbeys with Bibendum

Dax Restaurant

Ely 64 Wine

Elly Wine Bar


Grapevine Dalkey

Green Man Wines

Loose Canon Cheese & Wine

Peploe’s at Stephen Green

Piglet Wine Bar

Whelehans Wines & Winebar

Best World Cuisine – Sponsored by Stafford Lynch – San Pellegrino


3 Leaves


China Sichuan

Grano Restaurant

Hang Dai Chinese

M & L Szechuan Chinese


Pickle Restaurant


Best Kids Size Me

Fellini’s Pizza Pasta

Galliot et Grey

Michael’s Mount Merion

Dunnes and Criscenzi

Pete’s of Sandymount



Old Street Restaurant

Skinny Batch


Best Local Food Hero – Sponsored by The Irish Times

Conor Spacey of Foodspace Ireland Grow Cooker Serve

Brid Carter of Honest2Goodness

Sean Hussey of Hussey Fruit and Veg

Gareth Smith of Little Mike’s

Cathal Leonard of Potager

Niall Sabongi of The Seafood Café

Elaine Murphy of The Winding Stair

Joyce Timmins of Marymount Care Home

Aisling Rogerson & Luca Dalfonso of The Fumbally

Seaneen O’Sullivan of L.Mulligan Grocers

Best Casual Dining – Sponsored by Just Eat

Dunne & Crescenzi Dublin


Grano Restaurant

Le Perroquet

Mister S


Fish Shop Smithfield

Piglet Wine Bar

Ely Wine Bar

Little Mike’s

Best Emerging Irish Cuisine – Sponsored by Manor Farm



Clanbrassil House

Liath Restaurant

Mamó Restaurant

Mister S


Spitalfields Bar & Restaurant

Variety Jones

Volpe Nera

Best Restaurant Manager – AIB Merchant Services

Daniel Desmond of Chapter One

Olivier Meisonnave of Dax Restaurant

Ivor Campbell of Etto

Jessica D’Arcy of Mamó

Talha Pasha of Michael’s Mount Merion

Denise McBrien of The Old Spot

Cian Lynch of Uno Mas

Milie Mathew of 3 Leaves

Jain Paul Njaliplackil of Ananda

Darren D’Arcy of Volpe Nera

Best ‘Free From’ – Sponsored by Peroni Libera

Blazing Salads

Brother Hubbard (North)

Fallon and Byrne

Glas Restaurant

Honey Truffle

Kale + Coco

Tiller + Grain


I Monelli

Umi Falafel Mary Street

The Restaurants Association of Ireland would like to extend a huge thank you to our sponsors of this year’s Irish Restaurant Awards:

The Irish Times, Tindal Wine Merchants, BWG Foodservice, Elavon, Dolmen Insurance Brokers, Frylite, Just Eat, Jameson, Monin, Stafford Lynch – San Pellegrino, Peroni Libera, Illy, Gilbeys with Bibendum, AIB Merchant Services and Manor Farm. 

Our thanks to

This carousel is empty, please add some logos.