Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


Munster Winners Revealed for 2017

Munster Winners Revealed for 2017








The third of four regional finals in this year’s Irish Restaurant Awards took place in the Limerick Strand Hotel last night where 60 awards were presented to the country’s leading chefs, restaurants and pubs.


Over 600 people attended the Munster Regional Final on Tuesday evening where the top establishments in each county were named.


The ceremony included six regional titles including: Best Café; Best Emerging Irish Cuisine; Best Kids Size Me; Best Restaurant Manager; Best World Cuisine; and Local Food Hero. County winners from each of Munster’s 6 counties were selected from the following categories: Best Restaurant; Best Chef; Best Gastro Pub; Best Casual Dining; Best Hotel Restaurant; Best Customer Service; Best Wine Experience; Best Newcomer; and Pub of the Year.


Speaking at the awards, Adrian Cummins, Chief Executive of the Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) said: “Now in their ninth year, the Irish Restaurant Awards continue to showcase the exquisite and admirable calibre of food available in our restaurants and pubs nationwide. Online nominations have increased from 9,000 in 2013 to over 80,000 this year and with the increase in interest comes an increase in standards, making the judging process more difficult than ever.


“Our small island boasts everything from fine dining to high quality gastropubs, from the exotic taste explosions of world cuisine to the comfort of traditional dishes. We have an appreciation for what we eat, for the journey of our food from farm to fork, and for the dedication of those working in the food industry to serve up Ireland’s finest food.”


All County winners now compete for the Regional and All Ireland Title which will be announced at the Irish Restaurant Awards in the Clayton Hotel, Burlington Road, Dublin 4, on Monday 8th May, 2017.


The Winners in Munster are…


Regional Winning Categories in 2017


Best Café – Sponsored by Illy

  • Canteen, Limerick city

Best Emerging Irish Cuisine – Sponsored by Odaios Foods

  • PILGRIM’S, Rosscarbery, Cork

Best Kids Size Me – Sponsored by Heinz

  • 5 Fenn’s Quay, Cork city

Best Restaurant Manager – Sponsored by Tindal Wine Merchants

  • Elaine Murphy of 1826 Adare, Adare

Best World Cuisine – Sponsored by Dubliner Cheese

  • Miyazaki, Cork city

Local Food Hero – Sponsored by Rewarding Times

  • Michael Kelly of GROW HQ in Waterford city



County Winners 2017


Best Restaurant – Sponsored by Dalcassian Wines & Spirits and Cielo Wines

  • Clare: Wild Honey Inn, Lisdoonvarna
  • Cork: Greenes Restaurant, Cork city
  • Kerry: Daroka, Ballybunion
  • Limerick: 1826 Adare, Adare
  • Tipperary: The Old Convent, Clogheen
  • Waterford: The Tannery Restaurant, Dungarvan


Best Chef – Sponsored by Pallas Foods

  • Clare: David Hurley of The Dining Room at Gregans Castle Hotel, Ballyvaughan
  • Cork: Takashi Miyazaki of Miyazaki, Cork city  
  • Kerry: James Coffey of Park Hotel Kenmare, Kenmare
  • Limerick: Wade Murphy of 1826 Adare, Adare  
  • Tipperary: Dermot Gannon of The Old Convent, Clogheen
  • Waterford: Keith Boyle of The Bay Tree Bistro, Waterford city


Best Gastro Pub – Sponsored by Coca Cola

  • Clare: Morrissey’s Bar and Restaurant, Doonbeg
  • Cork: Arundels By The Pier, Ahakista 
  • Kerry: Allo’s Restaurant, Bar Bistro & Townhouse, Listowel  
  • Limerick: The Curragower Bar, Limerick city  
  • Tipperary: The Derg Inn, Terryglass
  • Waterford: The Victoria house, Tramore


Best Casual Dining – Sponsored by San Pellegrino

  • Clare: L’Arco Italian Restaurant, Ballyvaughan
  • Cork: Manning’s Emporium, Ballylickey
  • Kerry: Heather Restaurant, Killarney
  • Limerick: Coqbull, Limerick city
  • Tipperary: Prime 74, Tipperary town
  • Waterford: Momo Restaurant, Waterford city



Best Hotel Restaurant – Sponsored by Elavon

  • Clare: The Dining Room at Gregans Castle Hotel, Ballyvaughan
  • Cork: Yeats Room Restaurant at Ballymaloe House, Midleton
  • Kerry: Yew Tree Restaurant at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, Killarney
  • Limerick: The River Restaurant at Limerick Strand Hotel, Limerick city
  • Tipperary:  Hotel Minella, Clonmel
  • Waterford: Munster Room Restaurant at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, Ballinakill


Best Customer Service – Sponsored by Peroni Nastro Azzurro

  • Clare: Moy House, Lahinch
  • Cork: No. 5 Fenn’s Quay, Cork city
  • Kerry: Nick’s Seafood Restaurant & Piano Bar, Killorglin
  • Limerick: The Maigue Restaurant at Dunraven Arms Hotel, Adare
  • Tipperary: Lava Rock Restaurant, Cahir
  • Waterford: Momo Restaurant, Waterford city


Best Wine Experience – Sponsored by CLASSICdrinks

  • Clare: Earl of Thomond at Dromoland Castle Hotel, Newmarket-on-Fergus
  • Cork: L’Attitude51 Wine Café, Cork city
  • Kerry: Sol y Sombra, Killorglin
  • Limerick: The Copper Room, Limerick city
  • Tipperary:  Chez Hans, Cashel
  • Waterford: La Boheme, Waterford city



Best Newcomer – Sponsored by BWG Foodservice

  • Clare: Ginger Lou’s, Ennistymon
  • Cork: Holy Smoke, Cork city 
  • Kerry:  Gregory’s Garden, Castlegregory  
  • Limerick:  La Cucina Centro, Limerick city  
  • Tipperary: Dooks Fine Foods, Fethard
  • Waterford: GROW HQ, Waterford city



Pub of the Year – Sponsored by Bushmills

  • Clare: The Pipers Inn, Killaloe
  • Cork: Ma Murphys, Bantry  
  • Kerry: Dick Mack’s Bar, Dingle  
  • Limerick: Tom Collins, Limerick city  
  • Tipperary: Morrissey’s Bar, Cahir
  • Waterford: Davy Macs, Waterford city




For further information contact:


Adrian Cummins, Chief Executive Officer

Restaurants Association of Ireland

Mobile: +353 86 8263311

Telephone: +353 1 6779901

Fax: +353 1 6718414



Twitter: @restawards



Our thanks to